Four more join team’s HBO limited series ‘The Wire’ – Deadline

EXCLUSIVE: Darrell Britt-Gibson, Rob Brown, McKinley Belcher III and Larry Mitchell were cast as lead roles in We own this town, HBO’s next limited series of Threadexecutive producers David Simon and George Pelecanos. They will star alongside Jon Bernthal, Josh Charles and Jamie Hector in the project, which kicks off production in July.

The six-hour limited series, which will be directed and produced by Reinaldo Marcus Green, is based on Baltimore Sun journalist Justin Fenton’s book We own this town: a true story of crime, cops and corruption. It will chronicle the rise and fall of the Baltimore Police Department’s Gun Traceability Task Force and the corruption and moral collapse that befell an American city in which drug prohibition policies and mass arrests have been defended to the detriment of the actual work of the police.

Related story

Jon Bernthal, Josh Charles and Jamie Hector to star in HBO’s “We Own This City” limited series by team “The Wire”

Britt-Gibson will play Jemell Rayam, one of the bravest offenders caught up in the possible federal corruption case. Brown plays Maurice Ward, another man in plain clothes from the task force who was among the first to cooperate with prosecutors. Belcher will play Momodu “G Money” Gondo, an 11-year BPD veteran and task force member involved in theft, overtime fraud and other acts of corruption and has been involved in protecting a heroin operation led by Antonio “Brill” Shropshire. Mitchell will play Detective Scott Kilpatrick of the Baltimore County Narcotics Unit, who, along with David McDougall, began work on the drug overdoses that sparked the GTTF investigation.

2020-21 HBO Drivers & amp; Serial controls

Bernthal plays Sergeant BPD. Wayne Jenkins, one of the central figures of the GFFT survey. Charles is Daniel Hersl, an arrogant and boastful cop known among Baltimore residents for his offhand brutality. Hector plays Sean M. Suiter, a Baltimore City Homicide detective trapped in the investigation and called to testify before a federal grand jury.

Simon and Pelecanos write the series with Thread scribes Ed Burns and Bill Zorzi. Simon, Pelecanos and Burns are also executive producers with Kary Antholis, Nina K. Noble and Green. Zorzi is co-executive producer. Dwight Watkins is also a writer.

Britt-Gibson is replaced by Industry Entertainment and Gang, Tire. Brown is replaced by Industry Entertainment, WME and attorney Jeff Endlich. Belcher is replaced by Gersh and Anonymous Content. Mitchell is replaced with MZ.MGMT.NY.