Kate Winslet to direct HBO limited series ‘The Palace’

Kate Winslet is set to direct her fourth HBO limited series, with the premium cabler ordering drama “The Palace.”

Winslet will star in the series, which tells the story of a year within the palace walls of an authoritarian regime as it begins to unravel.

Winslet will produce the series in addition to starring. Will Tracy created the show and will serve as executive producer and showrunner. Stephen Frears is attached to direct and executive produce, with Frank Rich also serving as executive producer. Seth Reiss, Juli Weiner, Jen Spyra, Gary Shteyngart and Sarah DeLappe will also write for the show.

“We are honored to work with this incredibly talented group of filmmakers on ‘The Palace,'” said Francesca Orsi, Executive Vice President of HBO Programming. “The idea that Kate Winslet and Stephen Frears, two of our industry’s leading lights (who – remarkably – have never collaborated before), join forces to bring Will Tracy’s hugely original, prescient and dazzling scripts to life at HBO is a dream come true for us.

It was announced in June that Winslet is also attached to star in the HBO limited series “The Trust,” based on Hernan Diaz’s novel of the same name. Before that, she starred in the HBO limited series “Mare of Easttown,” for which she won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Limited Series. She had already won in the same category in 2011 for the HBO limited series “Mildred Pierce”. Winslet is also known for her seven Oscar nominations, including those for films like ‘Titanic’, ‘Iris’ and ‘Little Children’. She won the Oscar for best actress for her work in the film “The Reader” in 2009.

She is replaced by CAA and United Agents.

Frears is twice nominated for an Oscar, both in the category of best director. He was first nominated in 1991 for ‘The Grifters’ and again in 2007 for ‘The Queen’. He also directed films like “Florence Foster Jenkins”, “Philomena” and “Dangerous Liaisons”.

It is covered worldwide by Casarotto Ramsay and by Atlas Artists and CAA in the United States.

Tracy is known for being a writer and executive producer on HBO’s hit drama series “Succession,” where he was part of the show’s production team when it won Outstanding Drama Series Emmy in 2020. His other credits include “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” and “The Onion News Network”, winning three more Emmys for his work on the former show.

It is replaced by WME. Rich is replaced by Hirsch Wallerstein. Reiss is replaced by UTA, Brillstein and Hansen Jacobson. Weiner is replaced by 3Arts Entertainment and Hansen Jacobson. Spyra is replaced by CAA. Shteyngart is replaced by CAA. DeLappe is replaced by CAA and Range Media Partners.