New York Drama Critics’ Circle Awards announced for 2021-22 season

Winners of New York Drama Critics Circle Award 2022 was announced tonight (Thursday May 12), immediately after the organization’s 86and annual voting meeting. The second-oldest playwriting prize in the United States, after the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, has been awarded annually to the best new play of the season since 1936. Additional prizes may also be awarded each season for plays and foreign or American musicals. as well as special citations to individuals, groups and/or productions for outstanding contributions. Prizes include a $2,500 cash prize for best play, made possible by a grant from the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle consists of 22 drama critics from newspapers, magazines, news agencies, and websites based in the New York metropolitan area. Adam Feldman, theater critic and editor for Free timehas been president of the NYDCC since 2005. Joe Dziemianowicz is vice president and Zachary Stewart is treasurer.

This year’s winners are:

Best game: A case for the existence of Godwritten by Samuel D. Hunter, directed by David Cromer, world premiere at Signature Theater Company, 2022;

Best Musical: Kimberly Akimbobook and lyrics by David Lindsay-Abaire, music by Jeanine Tesori, direction by Jessica Stone, world premiere at the Atlantic Theater Company, 2021-22;

Special Quotes: Actor and director Austin Pendleton, for 60 years of work; Emerging Talent Sanaz Toossi, for his pieces English and wish you were Here.

The awards will be presented in a private ceremony at Feinstein’s/54 Below on Friday, May 20, beginning at 8 p.m. Congratulations to the winners!