‘Transit Love’, ‘DP’ and More Win Prizes at Inaugural Blue Dragon Series Awards

A scene from Netflix Korea’s original series “DP” (2021) [NETFLIX]

The inaugural Blue Dragon Series Awards (BSA) awarded Best Drama to Netflix Series “DP” (2021) and Best Entertainment Program to TV Show “Transit Love” (2021) at its ceremony on Tuesday.

Organized by local newspaper Sports Chosun, the event took place in Paradise City, Incheon. The award honors outstanding drama series and entertainment shows aired on over-the-top (OTT) streaming services.

Best Actor went to Lee Jung-jae, star of Netflix’s hit series “Squid Game” (2021), and Best Actress went to Kim Go-eun of TVing’s “Yumi’s Cells” (2021).

Lee Hak-jo of Wavve’s “Political Fever” (2021) won Best Supporting Actor; Kim Shin-rok from Netflix’s “Hellbound” (2021) for Best Supporting Actress; Koo Kyo-hwan from Netflix’s “DP” for Best New Actor; and Jung Ho-yeon of “Squid Game” for Best New Actress.

In the Entertainment and Reality TV categories, Best Male Artist went to Kang Ho-dong of Kang Ho-dong’s “New Journey to the West Special Spring Camp” from Tving (2021), Best Female Artist to Team Celeb Five , which currently consists of four comedians Soung Eun-i, Ahn Young-mi, Shin Bong-sun and Kim Shin-young, from Netflix’s “Celeb Five: Behind the Curtain” (2022).

Boy band Exo’s Kai won Best New Male Entertainment for Netflix’s “New World” (2021) and Joo Hyun-young won Best New Female Artist for Coupang Play’s “SNL Korea” (2021-) .

Actors Jung Hae-in from “DP”, Han Hyo-joo from Tving’s “Happiness” (2021), Park Jae-chan from boy band DKZ, Park Seo-ham from Watcha’s “Semantic Error” (2022), the comedian Lee Yong-jin of “Transit Love” and singer Kang Daniel of Disney+’s “Rookie Cops” (2022) won the Popular Star Awards.

BY HALEY YANG [[email protected]]